Tunnel Vision

dsc3199-light-tunnel-purple-and-blue-empty2

First of all, this photo isn’t mine. I lost mine by being one of those dummies who knows better but procrastinates backing up their photos until one day the phone actually dies and they’re gone. I found this one by Googling the Detroit airport.

Anyway, I have decided to put a hold on the pork chops recipe I keep teasing, I’m going to use it in a project for the html5/css class I’m taking. I’m in the middle of week four, but on track to finish the intro course by the end of next week. I can’t wait to start the next course; it feels good to be learning again. Being able to use the knowledge I’m gaining almost instantly feels even better. It’s why I’ve been a bit absent here, I’ve started dreaming about my homework projects and I don’t even mind.

After a bit of trial and error, I’ve caught up on a year of missed sleep and found a routine that works: I work out in the morning before breakfast, take a quick shower, eat while I check my socials, and get to “work”. I take a twenty minute break after a couple hours to practice what little yoga I’ve learned, and light housework like throwing in a load of laundry, then I sit back down and study until lunch. I’ve gotten out of the habit of stocking much junk food, so I usually eat something nutritious, do a little more housework, and get back to work until about four o’clock when I go for a quick run or do a bigger house chore, then make dinner.

It sounds kind of boring to write out, I guess – but I can’t tell you how nice it is to have a normal routine that allows me to take care of myself and my house whilst learning something valuable that I actually enjoy. AND I get to sit in front of this awesome window for most of the day. I’m happy in spite of myself and healthier than I’ve been in a long time. This is what I want for myself and I am just praying an opportunity comes along that allows me to keep something similar. At least for a while.

Time to get back to work.

Leave a Reply

