Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies

16805201_10154089952386012_1894227215_o-1
Not a great picture but it’s the only one I got!

I made some amazing flatbread with whole wheat flour last week and the next day I wanted that texture again. But I’d also been wanting cookies for a few days and I’d never made them with whole wheat flour so I decided to do a little experiment – you know, in the name of science. (But also a great excuse to break in my new mixing bowls.) I took my normal chocolate chip cookie recipe and decreased the flour by 1/4 cup to compensate for the fact that whole wheat tends to absorb more moisture, I added 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder to the baking soda already required to compensate for the heavier flour so my cookies wouldn’t be super dense, and I added an additional egg – again for moisture but also for texture.

They came out fantastic! They weren’t heavy at all, and the texture was perfectly chewy without seeming under-baked. The thing I liked the most was that the whole wheat flour (I’m a devout fan of King Arthur Flour) added just a hint of nuttiness and texture without overpowering the flavor of the dough. The profile was more complex overall and I may never make these with white flour again. If you want to try yourself let me know how they come out! Here’s the recipe:

2 cups Whole Wheat Flour (King Arthur is my favorite, obviously)
1 tsp. Baking Soda
1/2 tsp. Baking Powder
1 tsp. Salt (optional if you’re using salted butter)
1 cup Butter (Softened)
3/4 cup Granulated Sugar
3/4 cup Brown Sugar (Packed)
2 tsp. Vanilla Extract
2 Large Eggs
2 cups Semisweet Chocolate Chips (I use Nestle Toll House)
1 cup Nuts (Chopped) (Optional, I did not use them in the pictured batch)

  • Preheat your oven to 375 Fahrenheit.
  • In a small bowl, combine flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Make sure there are no lumps in your baking soda – they are not pleasant to find in a cookie.
  • In a large bowl, beat together the butter and sugars until creamy, then add eggs and vanilla and beat until the mixture looks like undercooked scrambled eggs (lumpy and wet).
  • Then add your dry ingredients a bit at a time until it’s all combined into a nice soft dough. Stir in your chocolate chips and drop by rounded tablespoon onto an ungreased cookie sheet. I fit 8 at a time on my little one.
  • Use the palm of your hand to just gently press the balls of dough into fat disks so they don’t roll around, then put the pan with the dough on it in the freezer for about 2 minutes. You can continue to ball up your cookie dough in the meantime.
  • Move the pan from the freezer to the oven and bake for 8 minutes or until they just start to brown around the bottom edges.
  • Remove and let the cookies cool/finish on the pan for 2 minutes before moving to a cooling rack.
  • Store in an airtight container for about a week or freeze for up to 2 months.
  • Unbaked dough can be frozen in an airtight freezer bag for up to 6 months. Defrost overnight in a refrigerator and continue baking as above.
  • Enjoy! ❤
Leave a Reply

