Update and Review: imPRESS Press-On Manicures

Right now I’m addicted to organizing my life and tracking my time with Trello and Pomello.
I’m following the guide on this board and logging my time using the comments automatically created by Pomello. I have the app on my phone and yeah. It may or may not be a problem.

I’m a little bummed because it’s a very long story as to why, and it’s no fault of mine, but the Amazon thing is just not going to work out. I tried really hard to make it work, but I’ll rant about it later. I’m back to schooling full time and focusing harder than ever. Even taking math on Khan Academy because, although I’m not terrible at it, it’s been a long while since I had to do more than count change or balance tills and I can feel the gears grinding when I try to do anything other than that in my head. At the end of last week, I started working on the first You Don’t Know JS book and learned how to use Git on the CLI. So I’m using an offline repo to take notes and make the process a habit – I may put it up on Github at some point for unlimited access for myself, but I don’t see the point at the moment since I only use one computer for all my projects.

Another unrelated thing I’m obsessed with right now are these imPRESS Nails. I know it’s so silly but I have had food service hands for a long time. My nails are usually very short and my cuticles are often dry. On top of which, I’m a biter. My pattern for the last couple years has been to start during a stressful time and then continue to get worse and worse until my nails start to grow in with waves going across the width as well as ridges. Then, I get gel manicures for a couple months because the smell grosses me out if I find myself chewing, and that’s how I quit. At least until the next time something massively anxiety inducing happens.
The weird thing is, I’m not really unhealthy, so my nails grow quite rapidly – making getting professional manicures costly not only for my wallet but also my time. I’m also one of those people who can paint my nails beautifully – but I can’t sit still long enough for them to dry and inevitably ruin at least one on each hand.
Enter imPRESS Press-On Gel Manicures.
I put them on in less than 5 minutes, and they stayed – even on my bumpy nails – for three days. A few of the things I did in those 3 days included quite a bit of cooking, a little baking (I made a cake yesterday), washing my hair every day, blow drying my hair, washing my hands very often and vigorously, and doing numerous loads of dishes that included pots. I pulled them off and replaced them yesterday because I’d been handling a lot of raw ground meat while cooking and, as I know my nails are still in need of a bit of growing before they’ll be completely flush, I didn’t really want to think about what might be lurking. This is another plus for me. One of the things I really dislike about traditional gel or acrylic manicures is that they are so tough to clean under, and you can’t just pull them off without destroying your fingernails! Not a problem with these. And it was $8 for a pack of 30 glossy little press-ons. Which means, even if I only get two full manicures (there are a bunch of different sizes in the box so you may not have 3 full sets depending on the sizes you need for each finger) out of each box, I can still get six manicures for the price of one. And, if I mess one up or one comes off in the interim, it takes less than a minute to replace, no drying time, nuthin’.
Additionally, since interviews are inevitably in my future, it will certainly be nice not to feel like I need to hide my hands when I’m speaking. They look and feel natural, now that I’ve gotten past the initial stage of suddenly having nails at all, and I find myself glancing down often because I’m not used to having “pretty hands”. I could definitely see a use case for a weekend or last-minute outing, or even prom, as details like manicures are often left to the last minute and these could be applied on the road (as long as you aren’t driving, of course).
Obviously, I’m quite enamored. I’ll stop gushing now. Tonight is my stepmom’s birthday dinner so I’ll just rave to her when I give her some later. 🙂

Have any of you ever tried press-on nails?

Leave a Reply

