Podcasts

When I decided to dive into the programming world without going the formal four-year computer science route, I knew I was going to need to find a way to keep up with the direction technology was heading while I buried my head in learning one thing at a time. I followed a few blogs and started learning some of the common names in web development, and then I found out some of them had podcasts. The first one I found was Dave Rupert and Chris Coyier’s Shoptalk Show and I’ve since become something of a podcast addict. If it’s about web design, JavaScript, or high-level programming – it’s pretty likely I’ve at least heard of it somewhere. Though, being an addict, I’m always looking for more.

My podcatcher of choice is Player.FM because it has web and Android syncing so I can listen anytime or anywhere, and I am currently subscribed to 26 different programming and web development podcasts. If I’m not writing or reading something that needs one-hundred percent of my attention, I’m probably listening to a podcast. In the car, at the grocery store, cooking dinner… I even canceled my Google Play Music subscription because I’ve pretty much stopped using it for the time being. Maybe that sounds a little extreme to you, but it has allowed me to immerse myself in the culture, learn the lingo, terminology, and “the way developers talk”. Maybe that doesn’t sound like a big deal, but coming from a completely different industry and knowing that that industry itself had its own dialect, it seemed in my best interest to assume that the web and software development communities would as well. Knowing the dialect may not be paramount when you want to ask a question – but it sure does help when you want to ask it right. That is, in a way that gets you the most helpful answer, the first time.

That being said, out of the 26, I have 2 favorites. I’m always happiest to find they have updated and almost never find myself skipping their episodes (even if autoplay happens to go through to reruns!).

ShopTalk Show 

Back in 2012, Dave and Chris set out to cut through the monotony of the typical web development podcast with a simple question-and-answer format that would be accessible to anyone willing to tune in. 266 episodes and a myriad of guests later, they are still going strong. I’ve learned a ton from their show alone and can’t recommend it highly enough. However, it is focused on all things web development so if that’s not an area of interest for you, you might not get as much out of it. (Though you’ll probably still get something.)  My favorite episodes are the Rapidfire episodes: when just Dave and Chris run through a bunch of listener questions. The informal feel of those episodes is as endearing as it is information packed.

Developer Tea

Jonathan Cutrell runs a chill podcast that talks about tons of topics related to web development and software engineering as well as soft skills useful both in the workplace and during your search for one. Each episode is only about 20 to 30 minutes long, designed to fit into your “tea break”. I think it’s a great concept and he really does put out some thought-provoking content.

Bonus: JavaScript Jabber | My JS Story 

Very informative overall, honestly. Obviously, this is JavaScript-focused, but my favorite episodes are the My JS Stories. Hearing how so many people came from completely different fields and have become successful (not to mention the things they can do with JavaScript) gives me life!

Other podcasts I listen to frequently include Software Engineering Daily, ToolsDay, Codepen Radio, and Front End Happy Hour. There is honestly a TON of content out there for developers and engineers at any level, so if you’re looking to learn, level up, or stay current in an industry that is advancing daily, I’m sure there’s one out there for you.

Have a great weekend! Oh – and if you have any recommendations, please comment below and let me know!

Leave a Reply

